How to change/set the default runlevel – Unix/Linux

The runlevel is specified in the /etc/inittab file. Different runlevels and details are listed below:

0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
1 - Single user mode
2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
3 - Full multiuser mode
4 - unused
5 - X11
6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)

The default runlevel means the runlevel of the Linux system which is appearing by-default after a reboot.
You can findout the current runlevel by executing the following command:

grep id:  /etc/inittab 


[[email protected] ~]# grep id:  /etc/inittab 

How to change the default runlevel?
you can change it simply by editing the line which has the runlevel id:

vi /etc/inittab

Then reboot to get the changes which you have made.

That’s it..!! 🙂

Arunlal Ashok

Linux Server Administrator. I'm dealing with Linux servers since 2012. I started this blog to share and discuss my ideas with the world. Check My Profile!! in uPwork (oDesk) and let me know if you need any assistance. Thanks!!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *